9/11 Memorial

I can’t believe I forgot to mention the 9/11 Memorial in my round-up of interesting things we did whilst Kelly was staying with us in April. Tom sometimes goes to meetings in the buildings overlooking the site, but I hadn’t seen it since my last visit to New York (in 2004, I think) when they were still excavating.

World Trade Center site

Despite getting there not long after it opened for the day the memorial was fairly busy, and we joined the queues snaking through security – an odd yet somehow appropriate entrance. Once inside, the water rushing into the pools blocks out a lot of the background noise, and the effect of water falling into unseen depths was really quite profound.

9/11 memorial fountain

It would be crass of me to try to comment on anything to do with the 9/11 attack, and I’m always somewhat ambivalent about memorials in any case, but I have to say that this one is tremendous. The simple-looking design inspires contemplation, and brings a sense of tranquility to the site. Once all the surrounding construction work is finished and people can just wander in and out of the space it will be absolutely lovely.

One thought on “9/11 Memorial

  1. Pingback: Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty | Leaves from the big apple

Leave a Reply

